Thread: First Mandolin: which of these 3 options?

Default First Mandolin: which of these 3 options?

Hi All,

I am new to mandolin and keen to learn. I am on a tight budget and have a few options I am considering.

1. Rogue RM-100A (approx $50 new)

2. Fender FM-53S (approx $80 lightly used)

3. Samick F-5 ($125 used)[EDIT: got the seller down to $90]

I am leaning towards the Fender, purely because it seems to be the best value for money, but I really don't know what I am talking about.

Any and all input would be greatly appreciated.
    -David

2. The following members say thank you to dak52 for this post:

Default Re: First Mandolin: which of these 3 options?

So far, my research implies that even for $90, the Samick is not worth it, and that I would be better off with a A-style than an F-style at my (very low) budget.

The question remains then, very cheap new Rogue RM-100A or lightly used Fender FM-53S for twice the price? Any opinions are welcome, even if you think I should just stop shopping and save up until I can afford a better one. I am open to all input

Thanks

If your budget is below $100, get the Rogue, get Cafe member Rob Meldrum's free ebook on set-up and have fun.

5. The following members say thank you to Eric F. for this post:

The Fender does have a solid top which is better but I have heard Fenders are of dubious quality. I would test it first to see how well it plays. If it plays easily and sounds alright it might be worth going for it. The Rouge is a good value but will take some work to get it ready to play.

i've seen some Gretsch New yorkers used in the $130-140 price range, i would go for that. It was my first, pretty good construction and decent materials, aside from frequently faulty bridges)
    Kentucky km900
    Yamaha piano, clarinet, violin; generic cello;
    a pedal steel (highly recommended); banjo, dobro don't get played much cause i'm considerate ;}