Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tuners

Default Tuners

Just checking out the Stewart MacDonald Golden Age tuners. They look great and are only like $ 50 to $ 60 Compare to Waverly's being $ 520. Do you think the Golden Age can stand up to the Waverly's and do as good a job ???
    John Dudeck

Musically Omnivorous tablaninja's Avatar

Default Re: Tuners

I have the Golden Age tuners on a mandolin I built and they're very nice. Good looking, smooth action and they stay in tune very well. I have no real experience with the Waverly tuners though.

If you buy a $5 wrench from Walmart, will it work just as well as a $75 wrench from a professional tool maker? Of course not.

Waverlies are beautifully made and finished tuning machines. They are also heavy, over priced, and over built (much like Abel reels). I have owned several guitars and one mandolin with Waverly tuners, and I don't believe their guitar tuners, and most especially, their mandolin tuners are worth the cost. But each to his or her own.

Do you think you will wear out two sets of the Golden Age mandolin tuners in your lifetime? How about ten sets? If so, you may want to consider the Waverlies. Even then, it'd be a break even proposition.

I just got a set of the Golden Age Tuners for my Kentucky A. They are very nice and very smooth. I'll be sure to post in a decade or three if they begin to malfunction or if their premature demise otherwise precipitates tuning problems.
    Last edited by Zissou Intern; Aug-15-2014 at 1:18am.

Blog Entries

You could look at this another way.

Do you need $500 tuners to reliably tune your mandolin?

Obviously, not. I have some with Grovers, some with Schaller's, some with Waverley's and one with the GA's.

They all tune nicely and all stay in tune...no problem with any of them. None of them have ever broke or failed, either.
    Gibson F5 'Harvey' Fern, Gibson F5 'Derrington' Fern
    Distressed Silverangel F 'Esmerelda' aka 'Maxx'
    Northfield Big Mon #127