Thread: Carbon fibre neck reinforcement question

Default Carbon fibre neck reinforcement question

Hello,
    I am preparing to make my first mandolin for myself to play(I am a luthier but make mostly medieval instruments), Its a celtic style model,. My question was one of neck reinforcement, looking at using two rods of carbon fibre over an adjustable truss rod?

Seems I can only get the solid carbon fibre rods from the USA ( I am in England)

It may well be a bad idea but does anyone have any thought over using the hollow section carbon fibre rods for reinforcement?
    http://www.tjdmodels.com/cfibre-rect...mt-p-2869.html

Any thoughts about this would be welcome,

Michael J King

www.michaeljking.com

Default Re: Carbon fibre neck reinforcement question

Michael, I'm also in the UK and I use the carbon fibre batons from these guys. I don't add a truss rod as well, frankly on a short mandolin neck you probably wouldn't be able to move it if there's CF in there as well: though others around here I know have other ideas.

Quote Originally Posted by Tavy View Post
    Michael, I'm also in the UK and I use the carbon fibre batons from these guys. I don't add a truss rod as well, frankly on a short mandolin neck you probably wouldn't be able to move it if there's CF in there as well: though others around here I know have other ideas.
    Do you use the 2mm thick section as it is in pairs or do you laminate it?

I use a single 2x12mm baton sandwiched between the two halves of the mahogany neck. No issues so far strung up with FW74's, but my oldest is just coming up to it's second birthday, so you know, take with the usual pinch of salt

As I understand it, it's the 12mm depth that matters, the thickness is not so important, as long as there are no torsional stresses on the neck.

Quote Originally Posted by Tavy View Post