Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Other instruments/styles you play and why

Default Other instruments/styles you play and why

What kind of instruments can you play and in what styles? I consider myself a guitar player above all. I haven't had one in a few months but especially electric. I did have only a mandolin, but I had to sell that after a failed expedition to California, now all I have is an acoustic guitar that needs EXTENSIVE repairs, I haven't been able to play in weeks. But forget my bad luck, I try to learn from a lot of different styles because of my vast love of differing musics. My favorites include but aren't limited to: bluegrass, classical, blues rock, metal and folk. I am not very good at any style though ._. I especially love the violin/fiddle, I would love to play but the whole fretless thing seems daunting...
    If you have the time, check out my lil new born forum for people who play any instrument with strings! stringsandfrets.freeforums.org

Default Re: Other instruments/styles you play and why

Ok I play Guitar, Flute, Bass & Mandolin. I also have some drums, Djembe, darbuka, talking & Bongo But I play an SR16 much better. I Played Trombone in school but lost my lip in a hockey accident ( It's not really an accident in hockey). I played Rock & Folk first and then Jazz. Picked up Flute in my 20s because I wanted something small to take camping and to carry on my Motorcycle. Picked up a Bass in my 30s to fill out home recordings. Got a Mandolin at 39 as my interest in Bluegrass increased. I have a Viola but have only just started to play it and it still sounds like someone stepped on the cat. Have an Autoharp but tuning it is such a pain I never play it. I have a Keyboard too but my playing is mostly limitted to 1 handed chord part as background on recordings. My music style is all over the map from Rock to reggae, folk to Jazz with a fair number of reels & hornpipes.
    Jim Richmond