Thread: Frank Solivan and Dirty Kitchen experience

garded

Default Frank Solivan and Dirty Kitchen experience

Last night we got the full dose of Frank& DK. I was lucky enough to be on the contact list that announced that Roger and Rosemary Siminoff were graciously opening their house to have a house concert with FS&DK.

Not only did the $20 a head get you in to a wonderful intimate setting with great acoustics, Frank made dinner for everybody! What a deal. He even brought dessert around personally, and did the dishes, what a guy

My thought was I had no idea how this thing going to go, but I wanted to see first hand what all the talk was about, as I'd heard so much about them. Frank is one of the first prodigy's I got to see grow up before my eyes. He was just a youngin' when I started playing mandolin and going to the local bluegrass association jams in Modesto CA in the middle/late 80's. About the time he was a teenager was when I moved further south and lost contact. I'd hear periodic updates of him going to Alaska to school, other little snipits, then the Navy band, Country Current. But I never got to see any of these steps in his evolution.

Armed only with a couple of u2oob vid's I'd seen, we showed up at the Siminoff's. After the great dinner that Frank made of what he called "one pot wonder" of ginger chicken over white rice, we retired to the living room and the boys got down to biz.