Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jes Git'n Started

Default Jes Git'n Started

Well hello everybody! Mando-Newbie here just saying hello! ...and a bit more!!
    Sooo my story goes a bit like this:

...and YES I know I'm long-winded!! I just thoroughly enjoy forums! So get used to it! I'll be here a while!

BTW: Name's Jeff, nice to meet y'all!!!

I bought a $50 Johnson mandolin from a local pawn shop about a month ago. Little did I know what was becoming! I actually bought the mandolin for my wife to try her hand at pickin. Happy Birthday love! I just couldnt put that cheap little thing down!
    I went to a jam session with a buddy of mine and played his A-style Fender. There was a difference but I could still manage (comparably) with my Johnson.
    Well then I played an older Kentucky A-style, and I was shocked! It was so easy to sound good!! I no longer had to force every note and every chord out of it. Playing it just felt "natural.?."

Well I ran home with the Mando-fever! I looked everywhere, and quickly, for an upgrade. Which wouldn't have taken much! After scouring numerous pawn-shops, Craigslists from here to Colorado, and trying to sift through the trash on eBay I came out feeling discouraged and a tad bit dirty!!

Then I found the light!!! The MANDOLIN CAFE!!!
    I spent the next few days just reading articles, reviews, and forum threads trying to get more acquainted with mandolins in general.

After a few days my new mandolin came up on the classifieds here.

It was just discussed on here actually:
    http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/sh...ighlight=rover

So now I'm the proud new owner of a Rover RM-75 w/ AXL tailpiece, Gotoh tuners, and Cumberland Acoustics bridge & armrest.
    In comparison to the three others Ive played; this thing plays itself!!!