Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A message from the new cmsa president

To all Mandolin Café participants –

For those of you I have not had the pleasure to meet, I am the new President of the Classical Mandolin Society of America (CMSA).

I’ve been playing the mandolin, addictively, since December 2000. (Prior to this, I played percussion and piano.) I started playing with the Minnesota Mandolin Orchestra in October 2001. Since then, I’ve attended every CMSA convention and a number of other workshops (e.g. AMGuSS, Mandofest, CAMW). I also play in an Irish band, an “on hold” jazz trio, and give private mandolin lessons. Professionally, I recently closed out a career in the accounting and finance field, most recently consulting with businesses “in crisis”.

The last few months have been consumed with “learning the CMSA ropes” and planning for the 2008 CMSA Convention, October 15 – 19 in Montreal. (I hope you will join us! Our conventions are great!)

As I’ve talked to a number of people, it is clear that CMSA has been somewhat “under the radar” in mando land. It is my sincere desire to improve CMSA during my tenure to better serve its members and to attract new members.

I had the pleasure of meeting with CMSA’s founder, Norman Levine, shortly before he died. He discussed his reasons for starting CMSA and its place in the mandolin world. I agreed on all counts and intend to try to make his vision a reality.

In order to do so, I’m in the process of examining our strengths and weaknesses. This note is requesting your constructive comments to help me steer CMSA in the right direction.

Please tell me the following:

- What is CMSA doing right?
    - What is CMSA doing wrong?
    - What can CMSA do to improve?
    - Are you currently a member of CMSA?
    o Why or why not?
    - Are you planning on attending the CMSA convention in Montreal?
    o Why or why not?