Thread: Dressing frets

I was wondering what the best tool to use for leveling frets would be, a flat file or a radius block? It seems to me that if you use a flat file it will leave flattened places which you will have to correct after leveling. I would like some input from the builders on here. I am pretty new to instrument repair and I plan to practice dressing frets on a Kentucky and an alvarez that belongs to a friend before I start in on my personal mandolin. I have made nuts for guitars and mandolins and scooped fingerboard extensions, along with setting guitar truss rods, just very basic stuff. I was gonna order the dvd from stews mac. I think it is called "basic fretwork". Like I said any input would be a huge help.

A radius block is only good for one matching radius, and must beheld and stroked absolutely straight to work. A flat block or file will work on a flat board, and any radius on an arched board including so-called compound radii (actually conical fingerboards).
    Careful work with a flat file or sanding block does not leave flats in the frets, though it can happen if the work is not carefully done.
    I use flat files and sanding blocks. I don't own radiused blocks, though I've used them elsewhere enough to know I don't like them and I don't think they are of enough use to me to bother with. YMMV