Mandolin Cafe News

New Music
Builder News
Special Events
Bill Graham

News Search

NOTE: you are viewing old, archived Mandolin Cafe News articles. Our news has relocated here.

19th Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards Show

By Mandolin Cafe
September 15, 2008 - 11:45 am

Email article Email article  Printer friendly Printer friendly

19th Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards Show

19th Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards Show

Nashville, Tenn. — The high lonesome sounds of bluegrass music will fill the historic Ryman Auditorium on October 2 at the 19th Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards, held on the very stage where the music was born.

Hosted by the legendary Del McCoury, who with his band has won the IBMA's Entertainer of the Year award for an unprecedented nine times and is nominated again this year, the show will feature performances by this year's top nominees, including Blue Highway, Dale Ann Bradley, Dailey & Vincent, The Del McCoury Band, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, The Grascals, The Infamous Stringdusters, Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder, The SteelDrivers, The Steep Canyon Rangers and others.

Reigning Entertainers of the Year, The Grascals will perform and have hopes of taking home the crystal trophies they've held in that category for the last two years. Seven-time Vocal Group of the Year Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver will showcase their tight harmonies and showmanship, while songbird Dale Ann Bradley, reigning IBMA Female Vocalist of the Year, will give the audience a taste of why she is nominated again this year.

Dailey & Vincent, in their first year as a duo, have ten award nominations, including Entertainer of the Year, Vocal Group of the Year, Album of the Year and two Song of the Year nods. Supergroups Blue Highway and Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder will demonstrate the virtuosity that earned both of them six nominations, including Instrumental Group of the Year and Album of the Year. In fact, the audience will be treated to performances by all of the artists with Album of the Year nominations, including the SteelDrivers, a group that also earned a nod for Emerging Artist of the Year, and the Infamous Stringdusters, who took home the Emerging Artist award in 2007. Del McCoury will celebrate his 50th anniversary in the music business with a performance with his band.

A highlight of the awards show will be the induction of this year's Hall of Fame honorees—Bill Clifton, a pioneering artist, songwriter and international ambassador for bluegrass music, and the late author and historian, Charles K. Wolfe.

The current list of award presenters includes nominees Sierra Hull, Sonya Isaacs, Claire Lynch, Bradley Walker, Marshall Wilborn and Josh Williams, along with Terry Baucom, Ron Block, Larry Cordle, G2 Bluegrass Band, Carrie Hassler, Kathy Mattea, Lynn Morris, Alecia Nugent and Tony Trischka.

The International Bluegrass Music Awards are determined by the professional membership of the association and recognize outstanding achievement in the bluegrass genre. The show is syndicated to more than 300 radio stations across the country and around the world, and will be broadcast live on XM Satellite Radio, XM 14 Bluegrass Junction. National sponsors for the show include Martha White Foods, GACTV, GHS Strings, Pinecastle Records, MerleFest and Deering Banjos.

Tickets go on sale to the public on Friday, September 19, by calling the Ryman box office at 615-889-3060 or Ticketmaster at 615-255-9600.

For more information, contact IBMA at (888) 438-4262 or visit

Click red map pin for driving directions to the 19th Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards Show, Nashville, Tennessee.

The Mandolin StoreD'Addario StringsJustStrings.comElderly InstrumentsEastman MandolinsMorgan MusicAcoustic Music CompanyThe Music EmporiumKentucky MandolinsEllis MandolinsWeber MandolinsMandolin World HeadquatersCollings