Thread: Kentucky vs. Indiana, A vs. F style

Blog Entries

Default Kentucky vs. Indiana, A vs. F style

Hi all,
    I'm very new to the mandolin scene and have a couple of questions.

What is the difference between Kentucky and Indiana mandolins? What is the history behind them? (my mom lives on the Kentucky/Indiana border, so I'm intrigued by this!)

Besides aesthetics, are there differences between A and F style mandolins? I've seen threads that address whether there are differences regarding frets, sound, etc... I guess I'm looking for an overview (if possible) of what (if any) differences there are besides their look.

Thank you for the help!!

Default Re: Kentucky vs. Indiana, A vs. F style

As for the A-F style mandolins:

A-style's have a fuller tone due to their tear drop shape, and no extra space in the instrument like there is with the F-style. The sound in an A-style resonates much more than that of the sound in an F-style. Also note worthy are the types of holes. While F and A style mandolins could have any type of sound-hole (F, oval, D, etc), the sound holes do make quite a difference in sound. Oval and D sound-holes are going to have a fuller sound, while F-holes are better for making a more clear sound, as well being better at being heard over other instruments.

EDIT: From my research here and else where, the Kentucky mandolins are superior to the Indiana mandolins. Indiana mandolins are low-end productions, and will not play as well as a Kentucky. As far as history goes on each, I really can't say.

There are other styles of mandolin, such as the two-point and Bacon styles. I am pretty sure the two-point is just for aesthetics and looks. I'm not sure what sound the Bacon style carries, or it's significance outside of its appearance, though I'm sure there are some.

3. The following members say thank you to Jordan Mong for this post:

Constantly In Search Of.. Michael Bridges's Avatar
    Blog Entries