Thread: Anxiety when separated from my Mandolin? Nightmares?

Default Anxiety when separated from my Mandolin? Nightmares?

Disclaimer:
    Beware! This post is not for the faint of heart, multiple mass mandolin causalities ahead. Read at your own risk.

I'm a new player and I'm a bit worried. I started playing about a month or so ago. Last week my family and I went on vacation to the beach nearby. My wife frowned when she saw me preparing my mandolin for travel, so I decided to leave it at home.

The first night away I had a terrible dream. I was playing my mandolin in front of an audience and could not get any sound at all from the mandolin. I tried each string, moving my fingers to different frets, and applying a heavy force to the pick. I started sweating so much and could not for the life of me figure out why I could not produce any sound. I then awoke suddenly and sweating.

The next night was horrid! I was in front of my friends and the whole damn top of my mandolin was sunken in and unplayable. It was like someone or something had sucked the life out of it. It appeared all shriveled up! I woke up with night sweats for the second time.

Last night when I got home the first thing I did was grab my mandolin and play it. It sounded so happy for me to be back.

Anyone else suffer from separation anxiety nightmares? Is this commonly associated with high levels of MAS?

Default Re: Anxiety when separated from my Mandolin? Nightmares?

Quote Originally Posted by Bryan Gerrells View Post
    My wife frowned when she saw me preparing my mandolin for travel, so I decided to leave it at home.
    . . . is what troubles me. You two need to talk! I mean, it's not like you were packing a banjo ! ! !

Steve

if your wife was worried about taking an expensive mandolin then you need to buy a less costly one for travel. Hey, it would cost prob a lot less than a round of psychotherapy.
    Jim

My Stream on Soundcloud
    Facebook
    19th Century Tunes
    Playing lately: