Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: starting fiddle

Question starting fiddle

Hello from Paris,

I'm soon going to retrieve a family violin that my 85-yo aunt was offered when she was 12. The violin was manufactured in 1940 by French luthier Amedee Dieudonne who seems to be a fairly renowed luthier.

I have been playing the guitar for 35 years, been taking mandolin lessons for 6 months and am contemplating starting violin lessons in September.

I have found folk/Irish classes for newbies who can't read music and have never touched a violin before, which is my exact profile :

Has anyone had a similar experience? I would never buy a violin but this one has been in the family for close to 75 years and it's time it gets played.

Thanks for your advice and input.

Here is a text about Dieudonné:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wurlitzer1935_01.jpg 
Views:	262 
Size:	71.2 KB 
ID:	100957
    http://www.luthiers-mirecourt.com/dieudonne_amedee.htm

and here is the violin:

Name:	Dieudonné -783-dos.jpg 
Views:	322 
Size:	206.9 KB 
ID:	100958

Name:	Dieudonné -783-étui.jpg 
Views:	303 
Size:	121.9 KB 
ID:	100959

Name:	Dieudonné -783-table.jpg 
Views:	308 
Size:	183.0 KB 
ID:	100960
    https://www.facebook.com/herve.oudet
    Gibson A9 (2005)
    The Loar LM600-VS (2010)

Default Re: starting fiddle

It kind of depends on what you want to learn to play. Elan Chalford at the link below has a good instructional course on playing traditional fiddle tunes. I found his instructions and materials well worth the small amount of money he asks. He's also on Youtube so you can get an idea of what and how he plays.
    http://fiddleguru.com/

Thanks you ! I guess I'll try to replicate the reels I'm learning on the mando.
    Gibson A9 (2005)
    The Loar LM600-VS (2010)

Blog Entries