Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best for Blues?

Default Best for Blues?

Been playing guitar for about 40 years, but I'm new to the mandolin. I'd like to get a mandolin for the blues. I've been looking at some Kentucky A style mandolins in the $300 price range. Are "F" hole or Oval hole mandolins generally "better" for old time blues? Are there any other mandolins worth looking at in the $300 price range?

Thanks!
    Pete

Default Re: Best for Blues?

You can play blues on anything, really. Figure out your budget and play some mandolins within that. I would imagine there are few rules for blues mandolin, unless you want to be Yank Rachell.
    Jim

My Stream on Soundcloud
    Facebook
    19th Century Tunes
    Playing lately:
    1924 Gibson A4 - 2018 Campanella A-5 - 2007 Brentrup A4C - 1915 Frank Merwin Ashley violin - Huss & Dalton DS - 1923 Gibson A2 black snakehead - '83 Flatiron A5-2 - 1939 Gibson L-00 - 1936 Epiphone Deluxe - 1928 Gibson L-5 - ca. 1890s Fairbanks Senator Banjo - ca. 1923 Vega Style M tenor banjo - ca. 1920 Weymann Style 25 Mandolin-Banjo - National RM-1

maybe a Hamdolin.. its a Ham Can for the body.. or, a cigar-box Mandolin..

Bo Diddly blues master loved his custom Gretch with a rectangular box body,
    to remind/ commemorate the back woods cotton fields roots of the blues
    when people had to make their own instruments to make music with from what was available.
    writing about music
    is like dancing,
    about architecture

two t's and one hyphen fatt-dad's Avatar

I think you'd have a lot of fun with a flat-top mandolin. Look at Big Muddy, Mid-Missouri or the Flatiron "pancake," which has designations like 1N, 2N, 3N depending on trim level (there are other letter designations too). Any of these mandolins in the secondary market would be under $500 (well other than the higher trim lines of the Flatiron).

Find an old Gibson A model - likely to be just over 1K though.