Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mandolin tips for a violinist? :)

Default Mandolin tips for a violinist? :)

Haiiiyaa ^_^
    I've been playing violin for 8 years and got a mandolin for xmas yaay C: It's not going too bad as my left hand pretty much knows what to do (except for chords of course), I'm just trying to get used to this pick thing ;3 I've researched and I know I'm holding it correctly, I just need some tips because I'm having a bit of trouble x_x Picking both strings (two) at once is a little difficult, especially when doing 'up' picking. I need to get more control and though I don't really want to sit there doing picking exercises all day, that's probably what I'll need to be doing wahh ._. How should I lay my wrist? and my fingers are sore because the strings are thicker ;_; ahh well better suck it up ^.^ But yes if anyone (especially violin players) could give me some advice it would be greatly appreciated! :D

Default Re: Mandolin tips for a violinist? :)

Welcome to the wonderful world of mandolin. I too am a violin convert and the hardest thing for me to get used to was the picking hand as well. The best advice I can give you is keep working at it. Start slow to make sure you are striking both strings with a pleasing tone. Play scales with repeated notes (ex. 8). It takes a while. I'm sure you will get many tips here. I'd be happy to share more if you'd like to PM me.

Again, welcome!

Blog Entries

It's definitely not a violin. If you played bass or cello it'd feel more normal in terms of spacing. So apart from having a general feel for where the notes are fretted you need to let go and accept it's a new instrument. With no sustain you can use unless the right hand makes it happen.