Thread: How to care for an old Gibson F-4 mandolin

Question How to care for an old Gibson F-4 mandolin

I have a Gibson F-4 mandolin, SN 20130, in original condition. It’s been in the family since new, purchased by my grandmother in NYC from a music teacher, a Dr. Wm. B. Evans, on May 12, 1913. (Yes, I have the original receipt.) I took it to Elderly instruments, in 2006, and they described it as follows: excellent condition, red sunburst finish, spruce top, maple sides and back, inlaid Handel tuner buttons, double flowerpot headstock inlay, original softshell case. I’m not interested in selling it at the moment, but I’ll eventually want it to be in the hands of a player. (I’m a former musician, and would hate to have this instrument sitting unused.) What should I do to keep this instrument in best condition?

Default Re: How to care for an old Gibson F-4 mandolin

Two important ones would be....downtune all strings a bit, one or two notes, and open the case once in a while to allow the gasses that are given off by the material the fingerboard is made from (celluloid) to get out. Those gasses will corrode metal and attack varnish and case material. If you play, you probably know to keep instruments in a stable environment...temperature and humidity.
    Norman E. Pfeifer

Care of any instrument is about the same; try to keep the relative humidity between 40% and 60% as much as possible, keep it clean, avoid extremes of temperature and humidity, check it over regularly and repair any problems as soon as possible. Play it often, if you play mandolin!