Thread: New guy looking for a good mandolin

Default New guy looking for a good mandolin

Hi guys/gals. My name is Jeremy and I am new to the forum and mandolins all together. I have been playing the bass for about 17 years and have decided to try and pick up the mandolin. Found this place searching the internet for info on mandolins. So I was wondering if I ya'll could recomend a decent accoustic/electric mandolin to start out on. I am wanting that isn't bottom grade. I am looking for something in the middle of the range as far as quality goes. SOmething that I can play for a good long while without getting new gas (new gear aquisition syndrome).

Looking forward to learning alot from everyone. Thanks

Default Re: New guy looking for a good mandolin

Welcome to the forum Jeremy! Any particular reason you want an Acoustic/Electric mandolin? Unless you perform a lot, the electronics add needless expense. You can get a better acoustic instrument for the money than you can with a/e.
    -Tristan

P.S.- you'll find that MAS (mandolin acquisition syndrome) is a common and often unavoidable disease around here
    Pierce Luthiery - pluthiery.tumblr.com

Well I do perform on a weekly basis with my bass and will probably be using the mandolin on occasion. Do they make aftermarket electronics you can put into the mouth of the body of an accoustic mandolin like you can on an accoustic guitar? That way I could possibly buy the aftermarket electronic pickup later on down the road?

Hi AT-