Thread: Thinking about switching to Rigel....thoughts?

Default Thinking about switching to Rigel....thoughts?

I currently play a Gibby red spruce Varnished Fern. I am no longer really interested in playing bluegrass as a "major" and am thinking about getting a more versatile "swiss army knife" mando. I like the fact that Rigels plug in nicely. Do any of you have, or know of, Rigels that really excel in the chop factor and might pass as good enough BG mandolins, while yet fulfilling a more utility niche? I played one that Jimmy Gaudreau had that would do it, but that was ten years ago, and it was his personal mando for sale. My concern is that I won't keep the Gibson. I'll sell to get it's replacement, as I am a working musician.

Default Re: Thinking about switching to Rigel....thoughts?

If you sell it you may have to change your forum name.

Rigels are generally nice and well made. I know that Mr. Rangell is still building but he is a smaller shop these days than he was a few years back. I am sure that he can build you what you want or else you have to find an older used one.

My favorite Rigel was the Q95 -- oval hole A with the little tail -- but I prob have much different tastes from yours.
    Jim

My Stream on Soundcloud
    Facebook
    19th Century Tunes
    Playing lately:
    2018 Campanella A-5 -- 2007 Brentrup A4C -- 1915 Frank Merwin Ashley violin -- Huss & Dalton DS -- 1923 Gibson A2 black snakehead -- '83 Flatiron A5-2 -- 1939 Gibson L-00 -- 1936 Epiphone Deluxe -- 1928 Gibson L-5 -- ca. 1890s Fairbanks Senator Banjo -- ca. 1923 Vega Style M tenor banjo -- ca. 1920 Weymann Style 25 Mandolin-Banjo -- National RM-1

Playes one that Josh Crowe had at a Raymond Fairchild show years ago .Didnt like it at all sounded thin to mee but most of all HATED the look

Heck, you could play classical music with a Gibby red spruce varnished fern!