Thread: Mandolin advice

Default Mandolin advice

Hello All,

I'm a long term watcher, firs time poster.
    I would call myself an beginner-intermediate mandolin player, but a complete beginner in western music (I am from India; play a few film songs). I am particularly interested in, (in addition to hindi film music) learning baroque (highest pref), old time european melodies, and some rock songs from the 60s-70s (low pref). I have a $30 mandolin (with J74s) which I've been playing since quite some time (since 2005 I think). Its a cheap plywood mandolin which sounds a bit harsh, so I've been playing with the round end of the pick. Recently, I began playing with the sharper end and it sounds quite harsh and loud, especially when I am playing tremolo, and so I have to be ultra gentle to keep the volume low. Hence I'm considering getting a sweeter- mellower sounding mandolin.

I have 3 main queries to ask:
    1. Would a bowl back mandolin suit me better or something like Big Muddy be good enough? If bowl back, then does something modern like Calace 24 suit better than the old ones? I understand that my needs cover a range of music, so would a two mandolin setup be better? If so then which two types? Likewise how about a bowlback and an 8 stringed electric mandolin? So I can travel with the latter and also use it with some effects for rock songs etc.
    2. I am left handed; would simply changing the strings and modifying the notches in the bridge be enough? I see myself loosing on to frequent good deals on Big Muddy/Mid-Mos on classifieds/CLs only because I am left handed. I understand that the tone bars would make a difference, but is it really noticeable in the range I am talking about? In terms of electric mandolin, would restringing be enough or there are complications involved?
    3. Will the harshness of my current mandolin be reduced if I put on lighter gauge strings Like Martin M400?