Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting used to a thicker pick?

Default Getting used to a thicker pick?

I've been playing for a couple months now, and I started out using some thin (.76mm) guitar picks that I picked up when I bought my mandolin. After reading around a little, at one point I tried a 1mm tortex pick, but found it too dull to play with and went back to my old ones.

This week I started with a new teacher, and at the end of the lesson he sent me off with a Golden Gate to use, and I've been trying to get used to it since, but having some difficulty. Much like when I tried the tortex pick, it feels dull. The thinner pick would always catch and spring off of the strings I guess, but a lot of the time the thicker pick seems to either graze over the top of the strings or catch too hard on the sides of them giving me a really muted tone, especially on the treble strings. Every now and then, though, I'll somehow manage to play just perfectly with it for a short song or two, occasionally a little bit longer, so I figure there's some hope.

So right now I'm just trying to figure out how I can consistently replicate those perfect stretches. I'll be playing with it just fine, and then 10 seconds later I'll be convinced that it takes black magic to get the treble strings to actually ring out with the darned thing. Is this a common problem? Is there something simple that I'm missing, or is it just a matter of practicing more with it? At this point I've only been using it for three days, so I'm hoping I'll just get used to it the more I use it...

Default Re: Getting used to a thicker pick?

Maybe look into dava picks. A mate showed them to me about 7 years ago and ive never looked back.

Blog Entries

The 'dullness' comes in contrast to this funny effect that thin picks have- the bright tone sounds kind of loud to the player, but the sound does not project, because the thin pick doesn't draw the low frequencies from the instrument very well.