Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best of both worlds (acoustic/electric) in one mandolin?

Default Best of both worlds (acoustic/electric) in one mandolin?

Hi all,

This is my first time posting here but I’ve come across a lot of helpful information on these forums over the years. I’m looking to make my first big mandolin upgrade and I’m hoping you might be able to offer some advice as I’m looking for something seemingly hard to find.

I play mandolin in the orchestral rock band Miracles of Modern Science. You can hear us here (http://bit.ly/dogyear) if you want to check out my sound and style -- I'm not much of a bluegrass player, so hopefully it isn’t too offensive! Right now I play a Fender FM-52E acoustic-electric mandolin which leaves a lot to be desired in terms of playability, electric tone, and acoustic tone/volume, but I’ve made do over the years. On recordings, my sound is a hybrid of the mic’ed acoustic sound and a dirtier amped sound providing some grit behind it. Live I just plug in the mandolin to my Fender Blues Jr. and generally keep it a little dirtier.

I’m looking for a versatile mandolin that has a good acoustic sound as well as a good electric sound that can be driven through my tube amp -- not just a louder recreation of the acoustic sound, though it would be nice to be able to switch between and more rocking electric sound and a more acoustic electric sound. So you can see why it might hard to find what I’m looking for. It seems like options with better acoustic properties don’t have as much versatility when plugged into an amp and pedals, and emando options made for plugging in risk sounding a little un-mandolin-like and aren’t going to have much acoustic volume or tone. And my dream combination of both might make the instrument a sort of jack of all trades, but a master of none.