Thread: Eastman cracked finish?

Default Eastman cracked finish?

Hi Mando Community -
    I'm new to the mandolin world and have been taking lessons for a few months. I'm currently playing a very cheap, not-so-good sounding mandolin. I have quickly gotten to the point that the poor sound hurts my ears and I would like to upgrade for Xmas!

I have been impressed with the J Bovier mandolins - specifically the F5. I thought the sound/tone was beautiful. However, the music shops where I live (Bozeman, MT) don't carry the J Bovier, so it's difficult for me to compare to the Eastman 515, which I have also been eying.

From what I have read, people are very satisfied with the craftsmanship and quality of the Eastman mandolins and they seem to be a pretty reliable company. However, I was struck by the fact that the finish on these mandolins seems to crack fairly easily. While I know this is merely an aesthetic issue and shouldn't affect the sound of the instrument, I guess some part of me does actually value the aesthetic as well.

Would any of you be able to compare these two mandolins? Does anyone have experience with the Eastman varnish and how it holds up over time? Is a cracking finish common on ALL mandolins and should this factor into my decision-making?

Thanks for your time...
    Christi

Default Re: Eastman cracked finish?

Hi, Christi, and welcome to the world of coveting a new and better (and cooler) mandolin.

I've not heard of this problem of Eastman finishes "cracking." My Eastman is about three years old, and doing fine.

My Eastman is a 2007, and no cracking.

Well, that's good to hear. There was a used 914 at the store and it had some significant cracks in the finish. The sales person said that he's seen it happen with quite a few of them. I'm wondering if this is the result of living up here in the bitter-cold North?! I definitely plan to buy a humidifier as well for my new friend.