Thread: Single coil resistance

Default Single coil resistance

I posted this request in the builder's forum, but no responses. I am a teacher. For the past few years we have been building insruments in a manufacturing class I teach. This years' instrument is an electric mandolin with a single coil pickup. It is a semi solid body design with an F styling. I wanted to introduce the students to electronics, so we are building our own single coil pickups. I am using alnico 5 magnets and 42awg magnet wire. 4 magnets, one for each pair of strings. So what is a good starting value for electrical resistance on a small instrument like this?

The bodies are made except for pocketing them for the pickup. I hope to have a prototype done over the thanksgiving break. I will post some pictures soon.
    Thanks!
    Matt

Blog Entries

Default Re: Single coil resistance

Steve Ryder's stacked-single-coil pickups are around 7.5K ohms. Pete Mallinson of Almuse made a replacement single-coil for my cheap Fender acoustic-electric, which measures at 4.3K. That was a bit light in output/tone, should probably be more than 5K.

BTW, would be wise to make the A string magnet a bit short compared to the others. I find you can balance bronze wound strings fine if you can push up the poles for them and the E. The A is always strong, so if you start with it shorter the four poles can be nearly flush if wanted. Otherwise you will want the A recessed or the others higher.

Ryder used 500K pots on my old EM-45, and a 0.47 pF (478) capacitor on the tone pot.
    Bandcamp -- https://tomwright1.bandcamp.com/
    Videos--YouTube
    Sound Clips--SoundCloud
    The viola is proof that man is not rational

Luthier&Pickup maker ret. Soundfarmer Pete's Avatar