Thread: Anybody else with this problem?

Default Anybody else with this problem?

I was wondering if anybody else struggles with this ...

I've been playing for 40 years, play many instruments besides mandolin, played professionally, etc., but my biggest problem as a musician is ... I hear certain songs and instrumental parts different than they're actually played! And, even after I learn the song the proper way, I still hear them my own way! I was learning Kentucky Mandolin by Bill Monroe recently and it came up again. I can play it the right way, but only after fighting my own head! It used to come up in my Beatles tribute band when I played the bass run for Taxman. I heard it different than McCartney played it, and it threw the band off. I learned the run the right way, but I still hear it the wrong way til this day!!!

Default Re: Anybody else with this problem?

To me, that's not a bad thing. Each of those listed had musical ideas in their head and heart and followed them. Made their own sound for us to enjoy. If everyone played the exact same, would be boring. Use those thoughts and make your own tunes, beside putting your mark on the original ones.
    "Can I have a little more talent in the monitors please?"

Blog Entries

It depends on what you're going for, like Kevin says.

I like a bit of interpretation, don't mind hearing the version in someone's head [vs. the recorded one].

For a Beatles tribute band I would want to hear `just like the record', but for Bill Monroe tunes I don't mind someone making it their own. I've seen Mike Compton take Evening Prayer Blues a lot farther than Bill did ... if you ask me, I just might like Mike's version better [ditto on how he plays Wheel Hoss].

I respect those who try to make it `just so', but normally find more excitement out of personalized versions [that stick to the song].