Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: What kind of mando for Celtic/Irish music?

Blog Entries

Default What kind of mando for Celtic/Irish music?

I'm just new to the mandolin. I've got an old bowlback I got off eBay, but it's turning out to be a challenge to get it playable.

Currently, I play guitar, mostly Irish pub songs, and I'm learning rhythm guitar for session tunes. I'm not much of a picker, more of a strummer, or whanger. Any recommendations on what kind of mandolin would be best for me?

Default Re: What kind of mando for Celtic/Irish music?

You can play Irish/Celtic music on any kind of mandolin - in Ireland you'll come across folk playing flat tops, carved tops, A's, F's, oval hole, f-hole, bowl back - it's all good. For meself the "best mandolin" is the one with the "best" playability.

Cheers,
    Jill
    2018 Girouard Concert oval A
    2015 JP "Whitechapel" tenor banjo
    2018 Frank Tate tenor guitar
    1969 Martin 00-18

my Youtube channel

In the great Irish band ' The Dubliners ' both Barney and John have played a Fylde Octavious mandolin for quite a few years now.

Dave H
    Eastman 615 mandola
    2011 Weber Bitteroot A5
    2012 Weber Bitteroot F5
    Eastman MD 915V
    Gibson F9
    2016 Capek ' Bob ' standard scale tenor banjo
    Ibanez Artist 5 string
    2001 Paul Shippey oval hole

but that's just me Bertram Henze's Avatar

What Jill said, plus look for max. volume.
    If you want to play melody in a noisy session, you'll have to cut through to be audible amongst fiddles and boxes. OTOH volume is hard to predict and independent from the type of mandolin.

If you want to play accompaniment, a larger member of the mandolin family is advisable, e.g. an octave mandolin or a bouzouki.
    the world is better off without bad ideas, good ideas are better off without the world

Quote Originally Posted by michaelpthompson View Post