Thread: I need some help with buying my 1st mandolin

Default I need some help with buying my 1st mandolin

so, im new to mandolin and I'm looking to buy my first one. I have about 250 dollars set aside for this purpose. but heres the catch, i have to buy my instrument at guitar center. I've done plenty of research and found that in a perfect world where money doesn't matter I would want high end f-style, but money's tight, so I've narrowed done all the options i had down to what seems to be the best one. its an ibanez f style with a solid spruce top, but doesn't have the fancy headstock. good buy for the $300 ?

Default Re: I need some help with buying my 1st mandolin

Looks like Guitar Center basically carries Gibson, Breedlove, Ibanez, Epiphone and Washburn as their product lines, with a few Fenders, Ovations and Godins thrown in. The standard Cafe mantra is that for a given dollar amount, you get "more mandolin" by buying an A-style, since you're not paying for the fancy carving that doesn't improve the sound. But with the models you have to choose from at GC, the Ibanez (I gather it's the M-522S) doesn't look too bad. It's got a solid pressed top, laminated back and sides, rosewood bridge and fingerboard. Many of these Asian instruments are over-finished, with thick lacquer that inhibits vibration of the top; don't know if that's particularly true of Ibanez.

Since you have to buy at Guitar Center (probably got a gift card, right?), we can't recommend Kentucky instruments, which are the normal preference among Cafe types for intro-level mandolins. Look at the Washburns as well, play as many as you can find in your neighborhood usually-understocked, mostly-electric-guitar store, and don't be dazzled by the more ornate F-styles if you can find an A-style that plays and sounds better. For the first mandolin, sound and playability are where it's at, not appearance -- though I love an F-style as much as the next guy...
    Allen Hopkins