Thread: For Starters-where to start?!?!

Default For Starters-where to start?!?!

Ok I tried the search function but too many results came up that didnt have exactly what I was looking for. My question is this, I am new to the mandolin. I have been playing the guitar for years off and on, not too serious though. Where do you start with the mandolin? Should I learn all the basic chords first? Practice fingerstyle techniques? other exercises? or just start learning some songs until I get a bit more comfortable playing?

I am sure you all have different ways of going about this and I am curious as to what you would suggest.

Also, taking lessons is kind of out of the question right now. Dont really have that kind of time, but I do have at least a few hours a day to dedicate to practicing

Default Re: For Starters-where to start?!?!

Mandolin Cafe home page can get you started just fine. Look at the tabs, chords and Mandolin Lessons links on the left.

It's enough to get you playing some tunes and some practice ammunition.

I'm a not-very-advanced guitar player and total newbie (about a month) on mandolin. If I had several hours a day to devote to practicing I'd certainly allocate an hour every other week or so to getting some instruction. That's a lot of practice time to invest if you turn out to be doing something wrong. But maybe I'm just squeamish about my ability to come up with solid technique on my own.

As for learning chords versus learning something else, what do you want to play? I haven't spent any time trying to play chords as my plans don't involve playing with anyone else (i.e. playing backup) and four-finger chords on mandolin are way tougher to play than similar chords on guitar. Really hard, physically I mean. But if you envision needing to chop rhythm behind someone else's melodies or solos I suppose it's never too soon to get started.