Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Blueridge 40 T Truss Rod? Does yours have one?

  1. #1
    Registered User Fiddlehound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    In the woods Up State NY
    Posts
    7

    Default Blueridge 40 T Truss Rod? Does yours have one?

    I have two Blueridge Tenors. They were purchased from different vendors. I keep one tuned GDAE and one CGDA. Last night I just happened to look in the sound hole and saw an Allen wrench type of bolt that appears to be a truss rod adjustment. I looked in the storage compartment of the case and found the Allen wrench that fits it. I looked in the second one and there is no adjustment. Both guitars are 40 T. Anyone know why there is a difference between the two guitars?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMGP2415.jpg 
Views:	261 
Size:	98.5 KB 
ID:	62399   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMGP2413.jpg 
Views:	229 
Size:	62.3 KB 
ID:	62400   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMGP2412.jpg 
Views:	204 
Size:	48.6 KB 
ID:	62401  


  2. #2
    Registered User mikeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Fond du Lac, WI
    Posts
    954

    Default Re: Blueridge 40 T Truss Rod? Does yours have one?

    The one without the truss rod is an earlier model. They were always advertised to have a truss rod, but some of the first ones that came over did not. I have one of those. So far no problems but I think I would rather have one with a truss rod in it. I suspect that the lack of a truss rod delayed shipment of the second batch for a while.

    Mike Keyes

  3. #3
    Registered User Fiddlehound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    In the woods Up State NY
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Blueridge 40 T Truss Rod? Does yours have one?

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeyes View Post
    The one without the truss rod is an earlier model. They were always advertised to have a truss rod, but some of the first ones that came over did not. I have one of those. So far no problems but I think I would rather have one with a truss rod in it. I suspect that the lack of a truss rod delayed shipment of the second batch for a while.

    Mike Keyes
    Hey thanks, Mike. I had always thought that none of the BR 40 T's had a truss rod. What a pleasant surprise! I also haven't had any problems with the one without the truss rod but wish it had one.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    1,616

    Default Re: Blueridge 40 T Truss Rod? Does yours have one?

    Yeah, that one without the truss rod is going to fold in half. Perhaps you'd like to sell it to me at a big discount ??
    Jeff Rohrbough
    "Listen louder, play softer"

  5. #5
    Registered User Fiddlehound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    In the woods Up State NY
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Blueridge 40 T Truss Rod? Does yours have one?

    At the first sign that she is caving in or I can't get good action because it needs the neck to be reset I'll get a hold of you.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    706

    Default Re: Blueridge 40 T Truss Rod? Does yours have one?

    Well my O-18T is seventy years old now, lacks a truss rod, and is still going strong. I think with only four strings, the truss rod is kind of unnecessary. Anyway, I would expect to see CF reinforcement largely replace truss rods in the coming years. Who needs an adjustable neck, when you can now build one that won't deform in the first place? Cutting out a big channel in the neck, doesn't seem like a good reinforcement strategy.
    James

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Longview, Alberta Canada
    Posts
    61

    Default Re: Blueridge 40 T Truss Rod? Does yours have one?

    Quote Originally Posted by Fiddlehound View Post
    I have two Blueridge Tenors. They were purchased from different vendors. I keep one tuned GDAE and one CGDA. Last night I just happened to look in the sound hole and saw an Allen wrench type of bolt that appears to be a truss rod adjustment. I looked in the storage compartment of the case and found the Allen wrench that fits it. I looked in the second one and there is no adjustment. Both guitars are 40 T. Anyone know why there is a difference between the two guitars?
    So no issues with the one tuned GDAE? What string gauges did you find worked for GDAE tuning? My Blueridge 60T that I purchased a couple months ago came with the truss rod adjustment similar to your photo. I haven't tried changing tuning from CGDA, on the advice of a luthier, who feared that the bridge and bracing might not be sturdy enough.

  8. #8
    Registered User mikeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Fond du Lac, WI
    Posts
    954

    Default Re: Blueridge 40 T Truss Rod? Does yours have one?

    Mandoannie,

    if you compare the D'Addario tenor banjo sets J-63 (82 lb)and J-63i (the Irish set, 77.1 lb)) you will see that the GDAE set has lower tension than the standard set. Assuming the same gauges, then a GDAE set on your tenor guitar will do less damage to the neck.

    Your luthier made some bad assumptions.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Gilbertsville. New York
    Posts
    1,842

    Default Re: Blueridge 40 T Truss Rod? Does yours have one?

    On my tenor banjo tuned to GDAE (I assume it is tuned exactly the same as a tenor guitar), there is remarkably little tension on the strings. So little in fact that it took me a while to get used to it. I can't imagine, if the neck is decently built with good wood, why a tension rod would be needed.

    I am just cynical enough to suspect that a tension rod may invite the builder to use lesser quality wood for the neck. Otherwise why one would be mandatory on an instrument with so little tension?
    Bart McNeil

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Gilbertsville. New York
    Posts
    1,842

    Default Re: Blueridge 40 T Truss Rod? Does yours have one?

    Sorry... I used the term tension rod when of course I meant truss rod in the above comment.
    Bart McNeil

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sevierville, TN
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Blueridge 40 T Truss Rod? Does yours have one?

    I just received a Blueridge Tenor BR-40T and mine has a truss rod.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •