Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Best Use of Mandolin in Rock

Default Best Use of Mandolin in Rock

What is the best rock song with a prominently featured mandolin in it?

Professional Dreamer journeybear's Avatar
    Northeastern South Carolina, west of North Carolina
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Best Use of Mandolin in Rock

I don't mean to sound nitpicky, but as a songwriter and writer I pay a lot of attention to meaning and clarity in language. You see, it seems to me these are two different if related questioins. The thread title concerns playing or arranging; the question as stated is more about songwriting.

That said, I usually point to what Jimmy Ryan does on Cheri Knight's "Rose In The Thorn" on her "Northeast Kingdom" album as a prime example of how a mandolin can and should be used in a rock song. It isn't even so much about the notes as the tone. It sounds like more than just a mandolin with a pickup on it - it sounds like a whole new instrument, transformed the way Les Paul, Leo Fender, and others created a new instrument with the electric guitar. It's obscure but worth seeking out, as is the whole album. Oh, and it qualifies for both considerations I mentioned.

For a great and long list of songs with mandolin, read this thread - all the way through. Thanks to a lot of contributors for this. It shows up more often than a lot of people think.
    But that's just my opinion. I could be wrong. - Dennis Miller

Furthering Mandolin Consciousness

Finders Keepers, my duo with the astoundingly talented and versatile Patti Rothberg. Our EP is finally done, and available! PM me, while they last!

I see your point. It could go either way, just wanted to know if there were any good rock songs with the mandolin being used as a lead instrument.
    Thanks for the thread.

Blog Entries

That's all right. It's a worthy question. Hope I didn't overdo it - I've been known to ...

Oh, and hey - Welcome to the Café!