Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Son of "How to increase picking speed?"

Default Son of "How to increase picking speed?"

[WARNING: Marathon first post. And you thought Avatar was long and drawn out.... ]

I know, I know, this question's been done to death. But after lurking here for a year or so, I'm still not satisfied with the answers I've seen.

The standard response is elaborations on three themes: "Speed isn't everything," "Slow is smooth, smooth is fast," and "It takes many hours of woodshedding."

Yep, yep, and yep. I agree. I teach music for a living (fiddle, banjo, guitar, and some mandolin). And I know that logging off here and sitting down with my mando right now would be a better use of my time. Still, I'm hoping some of you kind folks can suggest some specific tools and methods for increasing picking speed (and with that, improving tremolo).

Just so's we don't reinvent the wheel:

(1) I'm putting in a couple of hours a day playing mandolin, 6-7 days a week.
    (2) I've been flatpicking guitar for over 30 years, with a break in the middle after damaging my right ulnar nerve. Tests show full recovery--I have better than average nerve conduction, and normal use of my hand and fingers. I've played mandolin for about 4 years now (and for another 4 years about 25 years ago).
    (3) I can pick up to about 112 bpm (four eighth notes per metronome click) and be relaxed and comfortable, but I'm used to playing fiddle in groups that commonly run reels at anywhere from 108 to 136 bpm. I want to go that fast--comfortably--on mando, too.
    (4) Left hand isn't a problem--it can keep up with anything on fiddle, and so far, whatever my right hand is capable of.
    (5) I play down on the beats, up on the "ands," and can pick with good fluency, rock solid timing, rhythm, and feel--at speeds 112 bpm and below.