Thread: larger nut widths

Professional Nerd

Question larger nut widths

I'm a newbie investigating various brands of mandolins, as a relief from a (otherwise wonderful) Seagull guitar that just seems like a serious handful to get around the fretboard on.

Nonetheless, I don't want to trade one bad end of the spectrum (lots of reach) for the other end (too little room), so I am very attracted to the mandolins with increased nut widths such as the Breedlove's and their 1" 3/16" widths. I tried this $200 Epiphone at a local music shop and it did not feel comfortable at all -- I don't think I could have gotten past the 5th fret without touching some other string course.

Anyhow, can anyone rattle off the luthiers of oval hole mandolins who have models whose nut widths exceed the apparent 1" 1/16" standard? Aside from radiused fingerboards are there any other advantages (from a fretting perspective) of any other manufacturer's designs?

Basically I want to determine whether there's much alternative to buying a Breedlove, which is a little daunting from a how much it costs and how much I'd agonized if I dinged it anywhere -- for a newbie. While I'd feel bad enough if I dinged my Seagull, at least it's a (beautiful wonderful alive and sweet voiced) only $600 investment.

Thanks for any assistance.

Richard

You know, they call it a musical instrument because it measures everyone who picks it up.

Default Re: larger nut widths

At lower price points it's often a factory build, often imported, choice is just buy or not, ..

you may find some communication with US builders of simpler less ornamented designs,
    like for example, Big Muddy and some of the unbound Webers , that you may request a certain nut width , as it is built, for you as the customer .

Others have any suggestions, ? over..
    writing about music
    is like dancing,
    about architecture