Thread: Dexterous Vs. Sinister teaching: Advice welcome!

Default Dexterous Vs. Sinister teaching: Advice welcome!

I have a 13-year-old mandolin student who is an absolute beginner. He showed up for his first lesson with an old, inexpensive, but playable bowlback. After some difficulty in getting him to hold the instrument properly or perform some rudimentary pick strokes, I learned that he was left-handed. Upon hearing this, I had him turn the instrument around to try the same techniques picking this time with his left hand. It appeared that both ways were equally difficult for him.

After a bit more background info I'll ask my question. He wants to save up his money for an F-style. In the meantime, he wants to begin learning to pick on the bowlback. I'm comfortable helping him switch his mandolin from a righty to a lefty. With the zero fret, making a new nut should be a simple matter. Adapting the bridge presents no huge issues either. So far, no problem. His mom, however, wonders if he should be taught as a right-hander. (I'd kinda like to see him picking as a lefty.)

If he sees both right-handed picking and left-handed picking as equally difficult--if he is indeed a "tabula rasa" as far as which hand will hold the pick, can anyone see any reason not to teach him as if he were right-handed? I'd sure appreciate anyone's insights and experiences.

Thanks!
    Steve

"They're approaching. That's very forward of them."

Default Re: Dexterous Vs. Sinister teaching: Advice welcome!

There is a left handed players group in Social Groups. They might have some ideas on this.
    I can't recall ever hearing or hearing of a left handed mandolin player that played upside down (treble side up) like I've heard some guitarists. Those guitarists that do that have a very unique sound and technique though. Easier to find instruments as a right handed player.