Thread: Limited Selection?

Default Limited Selection?

maybe I've been barking up the wrong trees, but trying to find out what emando's are available has been sparse at best.

I've only been playing mandolin a year, but I'm a lifelong musician (started violin at 10, drums at 4, guitar at 15, bass at 16, on and on) and I've developed a desire to acquire an electric mandolin (or electric octave mandolin)

What I've noticed is it's kinda tricky just narrowing down whats out there. I mean, you've got things like the Epiphone Mandobird out there, and while I do like Epiphone (I prefer playing on mid-range to low end equipment when I'm playing stringed instruments, they just have more character and I don't feel so bad when I chop bits off) I'd like to know what else is around. Fender's emando is rapidly jumping out of availability, and I don't have the capital to invest in one of those gorgeous Mann's.

Basically it would be for studio experimentation and whatnot, I'm not currently with a band, so nothing live is planned.

The thing is I'm a student (6 years of military service and what do I get? school? boring!) so money is definitely an object. I'm at the point where I am considering those cheap $125 "Build your own electric mando" kits on eBay. Coming from an acoustic background I'd rather have an 8 string, but thats just me and I don't know how it would affect the tone. Plus if I did get one of those cheap kits, I'd have to spend the same amount again on new pots/pickups/wires/etc since there's no way I'm trusting that ####.

I'm also considering converting an archtop guitar into a mandola to achieve something similar, except I'm worried the neck width will be too big.

Anyways, I couldn't really find a whole lot here in the electric corner for us "no cash/no clue" guys, and mandolincafe has yet to fail me in my search for the truth.