Thread: Different Mandolin Voices ?

Default Different Mandolin Voices ?

I'm just beginning to play the mandolin, and I already want a better one.

The problem is where I live their are only starter kits.

I was looking to get an Eastman 505 but now I'm thinking of getting a used Collings MT..

I've read about the different voices a mando can have. ie. woody, treble, etc.

I like the sound this mando has:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s34xi...eature=related

How would you describe this mandolin voice in the video ?

My cheap mando doesn't sound like this or my instructor's mandolin.

But since I really like playing, I will save up for a nice mandolin.

Thanks for the help.

Regards,
    Jose

Default Re: Different Mandolin Voices ?

If I had to, I'd describe it as pretty ordinary but it's impossible to judge the sound of any instrument from a youtube clip. Bear in mind that the sound of a mandolin also depends upon how its set up and who's playing it.

Eastman or Collings? Eastman make some good instruments but I've never been convinced by their consistency. Some of the cheaper ones sound better than the more expensive so you'd need to play it. Collings are much more consistent but also much more expensive.
    Ray

Confused... or?
    Over the Hudson & thru the woods from NYC

Quote Originally Posted by Ray(T) View Post
    ... depends upon ... who's playing it.
    That is, whether the pick is held firmly or softly, and how the fingers, wrist, and/or elbow flex, and maybe changing from one note to the next. It's a skill that's difficult to describe, but it comes with experience. Also WHERE you pick along the string makes a difference, and is useful for providing contrasting "colors". Constantly having "the best" tone can get boring.