Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: How do you get better at the mandolin?

Default How do you get better at the mandolin?

I know there are mandolin players with less than a year to over 30yrs of experience in this forum. When I played guitar I learned quick..I peaked...then just fizzled and stayed about an early intermediate skill level. I enjoy the mandolin so much more than guitar and I still have a lot of passion for this instrument. It seems to be on my mind probably more than it should be.

I don't want to fizzle or plateau on the mandolin. Many people get their panties in a wad if you say I practice the mandolin...they say "I play" the mandolin. In any even, how do you guys continue to grow as mandolin players. Are there things you decided to spend a little more time trying to learn, or are you just constantly just going for it on the fly. Being self taught its easy to not know exactly what to practice/play to make myself a better player. Right now I am trying to add singing to my playing and trying to "fake" breaks. But I would truly like to know how you guys increase your skills so you don't plateau for years at a time.

2. The following members say thank you to cedarhog for this post:

Default Re: How do you get better at the mandolin?

I'm self-taught so far, just over a year. IMO, if you can read music a bit and have a decent ear, and have already been playing tunes, then it's time for those "boring" technique drills.

I started by just picking out a melody, now I'm going back to first principles. I have just started on the drills in the beginning of Mike Marshall's DVDs and it's already paying off. I'm just doing the stuff in the first 20 minutes of DVD 1, drills I would have started right off the bat if I had had a teacher. It's hard to recommend anything specific without knowing you and your playing style.

Would you feel comfortable posting a clip of you playing and asking for constructive feedback? Takes a thick skin, but could be very useful.