Thread: Kentucky KM-250S

Exclamation Kentucky KM-250S

Hello, I am new to the mandolin and I am ready to upgrade from my $50 rogue. I have been looking at the KM 250s based on price and ratings at musiciansfriend.com. I was wondering if there is any one with some advice on this mandolin, or if there are any suggestions on a good mandolin in the $200-400 range.
    Thank you

Default Re: Kentucky KM-250S

I started with a 2004 KM380, which at the time (I think) was basically the 250 with some cosmetic diferences. I think it's been a great mandolin for the money. Yep...I want to move up soon, but it's been a good and reliable instrument that I'll likely keep as a second "beater" when (and if) I'm ever able to afford something in the $2500 range. I did add a bone nut and an ebony bridge.

I got a new 380s several years ago for less than $400. It's a great mandolin and it sounds very nice and woody and plays very well.

i got my kentucky from musician's friend and it has a nice, bright sound -- and it sounds much better since i got it professionally set up. so if you decide to go with the kentucky (mine came with the bridge down and the strings loose), be prepared to get someone to set it up for you. kentuckys generally get good reviews on the cafe as a good beginner instrument and there's a reason for it.
    --------------------------------
    1920 Lyon & Healy bowlback
    1923 Gibson A-1 snakehead
    1952 Strad-o-lin
    1983 Giannini ABSM1 bandolim
    2009 Giannini GBSM3 bandolim
    2011 Eastman MD305

Quote Originally Posted by purplemonky View Post
    Hello, I am new to the mandolin and I am ready to upgrade from my $50 rogue. I have been looking at the KM 250s based on price and ratings at musiciansfriend.com. I was wondering if there is any one with some advice on this mandolin, or if there are any suggestions on a good mandolin in the $200-400 range.
    Thank you