Thread: Coopers Glen Music Festival - Kalamazoo

Default Coopers Glen Music Festival - Kalamazoo

Any Cafers attending Coopers Glen Music Festival in Kalamazoo MI, Jan 9-10? Looks like a good line up at a great price. Chris Hillman and Jeff Rose will be conducting a mandolin workshop on Friday. I also hope to catch John Doyle's guitar workshop on Saturday. I plan to bring my mando and OM.

Larry Rinehart

Default Re: Coopers Glen Music Festival - Kalamazoo

We plan on attending. Over the past three years of attending Bluegrass week at the Augusta Festival in Elkins, W.VA, we became good friends with one of the Coopers Glen Festival organizers, Kathy Nichols. She has made believers out of us and we are actually looking forward to heading north to Kalamazoo in January. The workshop and music line-up look very good. Larry Rinehart
    Ashville Picker

Didn't know about it until I read your post, but it looks interesting. I work in retail and I have seen little else but the inside of the store since Thanksgiving. It's only an hour trip to Kazoo, so that would make a nice break.

I'm thinking about it.
    Bill

Larry, Bruce, and Bill -
    Glad to hear that you all might make it. Any of you thinking of the mandolin workshop on Friday? My trip down from northern Michigan will be weather dependent. Shoot a reply as the date gets closer. Hope to see you there.

Larry Rinehart

What time is the mandolin workshop scheduled? I want to attend, but I can't head north until my son (banjo/dobro picker) gets out of school. I figure I am about 4 hours away. Larry Rinehart
    Ashville Picker

I definitely plan on going!

The mandolin workshop is from 5:30-6:30 on Friday. Here's a link to their website:

http://www.coopersglen.com/

I just got done listening to a show that Chris Hillman and Herb Pederson did at Jorma's Fur Peace Ranch on the WOUB program archive. Good stuff!
    Mike Bloder
    Hogan F-5
    Northfield NF-F5S