Thread: Suppose I want to build mandolins...

Default Suppose I want to build mandolins...

Let’s say I have a long-term goal of building mandolins and marketing them as a part-time affair. Additional assumptions:

1) This is a long-term project; there is no need to start today.
    2) I don't want to do this for a career or to support a family, but rather as a hobby that could potentially be profitable, or at least break even and not be a financial drain.
    3) I have adequate space for a workshop, but nothing else. No tools/equipment beyond what you might find in grandad's toolbox in the basement.
    4) I have no woodworking experience beyond putting together some simple kit instruments and maybe staining old furniture. On most days, I can handle a screwdriver without injuring myself.

Where do you begin? What is step #1? Do you start with a mandolin, or with something else? What tools and equipment are needed? What kind of money is involved to set up and equip a basic shop? What books or resources are available to help? Take a woodworking class? Spend time with a luthier who already builds? Work from a book by trial and error? What else needs to be taken into consideration?

"I'm a farmer with a mandolin and a high tenor voice."

Luthierus Amateurius crazymandolinist's Avatar

Default Re: Suppose I want to build mandolins...

Well I'm just starting out meself, never built a mandolin. I do however have a fully equipped shop with a huge tablesaw, a good bandsaw, a jointer, a planer, and a drill press. Those are some good tools to have, along with a scroll saw and a Dremel tool. My suggestion is to keep on building kits and work your way up from there, buy a few books, keep posting here until you build some mandolins from IV or StewMac kits that people actually ask you if they can buy them from you.