Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 26

Thread: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    RI
    Posts
    252

    Default tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    What do you use?

  2. #2

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    .042, .032, .022, .011 from this set of guitar strings

    http://www.music123.com/item/expande.../238065jpg.jpg

    I've tried others gauges and brands but these are what I finally settled on for this guitar...a Bacon Banjo Co. tenor from the 30's.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	l_9a72a2e3990517a175b80079068e9ee9.jpg 
Views:	670 
Size:	38.6 KB 
ID:	35771  
    Look up (to see whats comin down)

  3. #3
    Cafe Linux Mommy danb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1996
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    5,799

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    I'm 47, 35, 23, 13 on my resonator tenor. On my tenor banjos I would go 52,35,22,12
    The Mandolin Archive
    my CDs
    "The wheel is turning, but the hamster is dead"

  4. #4
    Registered User Martin Jonas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Northop, North Wales
    Posts
    6,274

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    Depends a bit on scale length, I would think. Dan: what's the scale on your reso?

    I'm just about to restring my new Ozark tenor (21-1/4" scale) down to GDAE, so I'll have a play around with gauges.

    Martin

  5. #5

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    On my tenor banjos I would go 52,35,22,12
    I think I'll give something along those lines a try on mine...I hardly ever play the darn thing anyway so I need some fresh inspiration, maybe that'll do the trick!
    Look up (to see whats comin down)

  6. #6
    Registered User Martin Jonas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Northop, North Wales
    Posts
    6,274

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    I've just noticed that Newtone offer a custom set specifically for tenor guitar in GDAE tuning here, and their gauges are 10-20w-30w-40w. That's a little bit lighter than Jeff and much lighter than Dan. No info on intended scale length, although most tenors have around 23". I've ordered the Newtones to try them, but as my Ozark tenor has only 21-1/4" scale, they may turn out to be too light.

  7. #7
    Registered User Jody Platt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ithaca NY
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    For a 21" scale (GDAE) I use .046,.036,.024,.015 With these gauges I can also cross tune to GDGD, AEAE, ADAE, GDAD... I used to use .026 and .016 on the A and E strings, but now like it a bit lighter.

    JP

  8. #8
    Registered User Martin Jonas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Northop, North Wales
    Posts
    6,274

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    Quote Originally Posted by Martin Jonas View Post
    I've just noticed that Newtone offer a custom set specifically for tenor guitar in GDAE tuning here, and their gauges are 10-20w-30w-40w.
    Correction: the Newtones are 13-20w-30w-40w.

    Martin

  9. #9
    Cafe Linux Mommy danb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1996
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    5,799

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    Quote Originally Posted by Martin Jonas View Post
    Depends a bit on scale length, I would think. Dan: what's the scale on your reso?

    I'm just about to restring my new Ozark tenor (21-1/4" scale) down to GDAE, so I'll have a play around with gauges.

    Martin
    23" I think, same as a 19-fret tenor banjo
    The Mandolin Archive
    my CDs
    "The wheel is turning, but the hamster is dead"

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    I recently bought a National Reso tenor tuned to CGDA and want to try tunig down to octave mando range - the string gauges mentioned seem like a good starting point, but the sets seem to be ball end - this hoss takes loop end. Any suggestions?
    thanks, Will
    Will Patton

  11. #11
    A DEAD HEAD
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    colona il
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    i brought a new gold tone tg-18 23" scale they said string size recommended 012-024w-034w-048w and they sound pretty good(ghs-bright bronze) after playing it, i almost like it better then my mandos -single strings,easier on fingers,plays very easy!
    Some people know a little about
    about a lot of things,i would rather
    know a lot about the little things
    BORN AGAIN CUB FAN

  12. #12
    Registered User Martin Jonas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Northop, North Wales
    Posts
    6,274

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    Quote Originally Posted by Martin Jonas View Post
    Correction: the Newtones are 13-20w-30w-40w.
    Having now received and tried the Newtones, I can confidently say that they are slightly too light on the top three strings and way too light for the G at 21-1/4" scale. Makes an unacceptable floppy booming noise. Tuning all strings two semitones up to AEBF# improves matters somewhat although the bass string is still too light. I've ordered some d'Addario singles now in 15-24-34-47 (and a spare 36 for trial and error on the D), which I would hope should suit the Ozark better without overstringing it. Of course, some of it may be that the small body isn't great for the G -- Stentor specifically say that they don't recommend it for GDAE. Still, the body is larger than most flattop octave mandos, which seem to do just fine with the low G (albeit with a different body shape), so I'll persevere.

    Martin

  13. #13
    * jjoyce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    Wow, I can't believe a tenor guitar forum. I have a Martin tenor, mohogany, nothing fancy, that I've got tuned GDAE. I have a difficult time getting it to sound bright, and it's likely the strings are not right. I should try some of the combo's some of you are mentioning. I can't even remember what's on it now. It's such a mellow dulcit sound, nice for practicing Bach cello suites or something, but not so alive with my favorite celtic/choro favs. I admit, part of it is also that my hands just aren't accustomed to the fret spacing of a real guitar neck. Capoed up it's decent. I almost want to get the right strings put on it so I can capo at the fifth fret and it be GDAE, then maybe I could really play it. That would sound decent for some of the latin tunes I do.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Humboldt County, CA
    Posts
    618

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    Danb,

    Are you buying individual strings, or is there a set somewhere that provides you 47, 35, 23, 13? I'm looking for something similar in nickel.

    Thanks,
    DJW

  15. #15
    Cafe Linux Mommy danb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1996
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    5,799

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    I order individual strings from Elderly.

    Quote Originally Posted by djweiss View Post
    Danb,

    Are you buying individual strings, or is there a set somewhere that provides you 47, 35, 23, 13? I'm looking for something similar in nickel.

    Thanks,
    DJW
    The Mandolin Archive
    my CDs
    "The wheel is turning, but the hamster is dead"

  16. #16
    Registered User Charles E.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Saint Augustine Beach FL
    Posts
    5,447

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    I bought a 1963 Gibson tenor guitar a couple of weeks ago. It is all mahogany with ladder bracing. At first I strung it up CGDA and it was just OK. In fact it was a bit bright. Today I restrung it to GDAE ( .042, .032, .022, .o14 ) Man what a differance! This thing sounds great. It is almost like it was made for this tuning. Thanks to you all for the inspiration!
    Charley

    A bunch of stuff with four strings

  17. #17
    Registered User big smiley guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Middle of the Shenandoah
    Posts
    116

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    I'm assuming that with the 47-13's that only one of the strings would be unwound?

  18. #18
    Registered User Pete Martin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    3,150

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    Quote Originally Posted by jjoyce View Post
    Wow, I can't believe a tenor guitar forum. I have a Martin tenor, mohogany, nothing fancy, that I've got tuned GDAE. I have a difficult time getting it to sound bright, and it's likely the strings are not right. I should try some of the combo's some of you are mentioning. I can't even remember what's on it now. It's such a mellow dulcit sound, nice for practicing Bach cello suites or something, but not so alive with my favorite celtic/choro favs. I admit, part of it is also that my hands just aren't accustomed to the fret spacing of a real guitar neck. Capoed up it's decent. I almost want to get the right strings put on it so I can capo at the fifth fret and it be GDAE, then maybe I could really play it. That would sound decent for some of the latin tunes I do.
    A mahogany topped tenor is never going to sound very bright. Almost all tenor players I've known personally that started with an O17T eventually ended up with an O18T or an old Gibson spruce top instrument. Much sweeter and fuller ring to them.
    -----------
    Pete Martin
    www.PeteMartin.info
    Instruction books, videos, articles, transcriptions:
    Jazz, bluegrass, improvisation, ergonomics
    Private lessons in Seattle, online live lessons to anywhere
    Pete Martin Plays Wes Montgomery free download

  19. #19
    Registered User Mike Herlihy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Basking Ridge, NJ
    Posts
    295

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    Quote Originally Posted by DENNY7P View Post
    i brought a new gold tone tg-18 23" scale they said string size recommended 012-024w-034w-048w and they sound pretty good(ghs-bright bronze) after playing it, i almost like it better then my mandos -single strings,easier on fingers,plays very easy!
    http://www.elderly.com/accessories/items/PF280.htm

    Like this Mandola Set?

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Humboldt County, CA
    Posts
    618

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    I wonder if the string is long enough for a 23" scale...the string guages seem pretty good.

    -DJW

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Herlihy View Post

  21. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Humboldt County, CA
    Posts
    618

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    I just answered my own question...from the Elderly website:

    Wound strings are 30" (76.2cm) long, the wound portion is 28" (71.12cm).

  22. #22
    Registered User Mike Herlihy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Basking Ridge, NJ
    Posts
    295

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    Quote Originally Posted by djweiss View Post
    I just answered my own question...from the Elderly website:

    Wound strings are 30" (76.2cm) long, the wound portion is 28" (71.12cm).
    What I wonder is, are they loop-end or ball-end?

  23. #23
    Registered User Earl Gamage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Tifton, Ga
    Posts
    753

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    I use .012, .022, .032, .046 for GDAE on a new Martin tenor. It sounds good. I just looked up om strings and bought the closest the guitar store had in their single string sales.

  24. #24

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    is your .024 a wound one !! TJ

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    SE Texas
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: tenor guitar (GDAE) strings

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Herlihy View Post
    What I wonder is, are they loop-end or ball-end?
    Loop end.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •