Thread: Amp buzz

Default Amp buzz

I just got my first amplifier, a used Fender Blues Junior NOS (tweed exterior)...

I've been experimenting tonight with my Phoenix Jazz mandolin, and noticed that when either nothing is plugged in, or I plug in the Piezo pickup, the amp is pretty quiet, with just a very slight hum (I assume that's just the tubes???).

But, when I plug in the humbucker, a more noticeable (almost too much) hum/buzz comes and goes depending on which way I'm facing, and even then it sort of cycles on and off every 5-10 seconds or so...

I'm very new to electric instruments...Is it likely the amp or the pickup? Or is this just part of the mojo?

Thanks,
    Darren

Post Re: Amp buzz

If I hold my magnetic pickup equipped mandolin closer to the Neon Beer signs the hum gets louder .

.. They, and Florescent lights have a ballast and transformer too , that is another coil of copper wire .

perhaps that is how coils of wire communicate with each other , by humming harmonies in the 60 cycle frequency?

writing about music
    is like dancing,
    about architecture

Default Re: Amp buzz

You are living life with a fender tube amp. Thats how they are. Try moving away from the amp, this should reduce the hum. You may also want to keep your right hand laid across the strings during quiet moments. While you are playing with others the hum should not be noticeable when playing.
    dwight in NC

Blog Entries