Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What to do after a practice session...

It's been a while since I had a truly horrible practice session. I'm relatively new to the mando (6 months), but played classical and folk guitar for 30 years. I've been fairly happy with my progress, though I *know* my mando needs a better set up. There's not much locally (Salt Lake valley, UT) I trust. So I struggle a bit with what is soooo easy with the fret hand on the guitar.

Last night was bad. I should have just stuck to scales. Now I'm irritated and frustrated like I haven't been in years. I usually do a couple of sets of scales (FFCP), a piece I'm trying to learn, some chord progressions, and then one or more pieces just for fun. I practice every day, but my fingertips ached and my tone was absolutely horrible.

I have a solid musical background ('twas my major in college), though I played bassoon professionally rather than a string instrument. I love a challenge, but...

What do you folks do when you have a rotten session? What do you do mentally? Physically?

Thanks for any advice...

BTW - I can't edit the title, but it was "cr*ppy", not something worse. Sorry if I've offended anyone.

I pick it up and practice some more.
    "It's comparable to playing a cheese slicer."
    --M. Stillion

"Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them"
    --J. Garber

Thanks, Mike. That was my plan...just telling myself the next time is a clean slate.

If you're that frustrated, stop practicing for a while and start playing. Pick a tune you like and whup it like a mule. Also, what about Intermountain Guitar and Banjo? Can't they do a setup?

Haven't checked Intermountain Guitar and Banjo...yet. <g> Thanks. Yeah, maybe I'm in a technique rut.

Yep, no one is perfect. Don't get frustrated and keep at it. When I'm not satisfied with my playing I practice more.
    Save up some money and take a trip to get your mandolin properly setup, it'll be worth it in the long run.