Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recording an acoustic band

I'd like to record some tracks from a three-piece acoustic band - bass, guitar and mandolin, plus vocals. I've never had much luck with this in the past. I don't need studio quality, but I'd like something that would be passable for a demo CD to pass out. #I'm also not interested in trying to set up multitrack recording. #I'd like something I can set up to record the full band at one time. #Either a microphone set up, or possibly something running from a soundboard into a recording setup. #

Anyone have success with recording bands using the Zoom H2 or H4, or comparable Marantz devices?

What are you guys using? What works well and what doesn't work at all? #Any suggestions would be helpful.

"I'm a farmer with a mandolin and a high tenor voice."

I just bought a Zoom H2 that produces surprisingly good sounding audio files. That's an option, as it can record a 360 degree (omni) pattern. Put it on a stand or tripod in the center of a room at about voice level and start recording. I used it recently to record a piano and two voices and it sounds great. It is amazingly sensitive so make sure you record in a quiet space. It picked up conversation from another room, as a matter of fact. Nonetheless, the bass notes were strong, vocals clear, and it really sounded nice. I positioned it about 4 feet in front of the singers aimed toward the piano.

Another thing I've done successfully is used different mics mixed to stereo and recorded from a mixer to a mini-disk recorder. Worked great as a demo once I transferred to CD and got the band lots of gigs. Use any stereo recording device in place of a MD recorder. I've had great success recording live from a mixer to a Sony home-stereo type CD deck that burns CDs.

You could do the same thing with a single omni (for playing around the mic) or cardoid (aimed at the band) condenser and a mixer to an outboard device.