Thread: New frets

I am a TOTAL beginner. I purchased a Fender FM-52E at a garage sale for $25. The first 6-8 frets are badly worn (string grooves). I don't have any idea what re-fretting would cost. Since this is a very inexpensive mando ($200? new), do you think it would be worth having the work done? Any estimates on re-fretting costs would be appreciated.

You should look into dressing the existing frets first. Much less expensive than a new fret job.
    EdSherry

Several of the grooves are quite deep, they may be well beyond dressing. Any guess on re-fretting costs?

Whoever owned it must have enjoyed it to wear out the frets like that. Might be worth finding some newbie luthier nearby who might do it cheap for the experience. I pretty sure the pro's charge 150 and up. If you were in my neighbor hood I'd do it for 75.
    Richard Hutchings

More than the value of your mandolin. If it is a 200.00 mandolin it would be better to buy an different one that did not need the work. If it was a better mandolin it would be worth the cost.
    Have a Great Day!
    Joe Vest

I really appreciate the replys. I will have my nearby luthier look it over, but, it sounds like I should plan to do some mando shopping. Thanks again.

Worn frets = much loved instrument. Hang on to it until you can get a good deal on the dress/refret, then see if you want to trade/sell.
    Speed is fine but accuracy is everything. Xenophon

I agree with Big Joe.
    True, you may have lost $25 on this purchase, but in this case your first loss is your best loss.
    Throwing money at it won't make thing better.

Curt

unless you want to try doing it yourself... seems to me that if you're already willing to discard the $25 mando, you don't have much to lose in trying.
    Karen Escovitz
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Otter OM #1
    Brian Dean OM #32
    Old Wave Mandola #372
    Phoenix Neoclassical #256
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    If you're gonna walk on thin ice, you might as well dance!