Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mandolin lessons :(

Hi. I'm a guiltiest and I decided to start playing mandolin a few weeks ago to help give our jams a different sound. So late one drunkn' night I set out to find a mandolin on the web. I came across a $45 Rogue. I bought the Rogue thinking if I don't like it I could nail it to the wall or something. Anyway I got it a few days later took it out of the box and at first look I was a little overwhelmed by the tiny fretboard. I tuned it up looked up some chords and "BAM". What a sweet instruments (I'm not saying Rogue but the mandolin in general). I'm hooked.

Ok here is where I am trying to get at. I decided to take some lessons. I didn't want to go through the problems I had when learning the guitar(self taught). I would get into ruts and my progress would crawl to a stand still. SO I sighed up. Yesterday I went to the lesson and after sitting in a waiting room with a bunch of kids I was finally herded into a room. The instructor went straight to a lesson book w/cd. He told me I need to get this book ASAP and proceeded to teach me TAB. I know TAB. I've known TAB for many many years. I told him that but he still pressed on. The sadness started to set in. I was really bummed out. I was really looking forwarded to taking these lessons. I know how to read If I got that book/cd why do I need to pay him to read it to me? I guess I am going to go the way of the guitar and be a self taught mandolin player. If anyone has any suggestions of book or what not I should read I am all ears.

If you made it this far thanks for letting me rant.

Sounds like you have a bad teacher (or at least one that's bad for you). Get another one. Before signing up for lessons, interview the potential instructor. Any teacher worth their salt will be able to tailor the lessons to suit your skill and learning style.

Also, be open minded. Sometimes what you see as wasted time and instruction can actually be worthwhile in the long run.