Thread: "fleshing out"  fiddle tunes

This post might apply to several other forums, but I decided to choose one, rather than try to track replies all over the board. (And, I sincerely hope I get a few replies...)

My basic question has to do with translating fiddle tunes (bluegrass, old-time, celtic, or any other kind, probably) to mandolin. I'm assuming minimum backup, here. Say, guitar and maybe, bass.

It seems that the mandolinist (me, in this instance) has a few choices when trying to make a fiddle tune sound good on mandolin. Without the fiddle's sustain, I can either play more notes per measure (say two eighths for each quarter, or something along those lines), play tremolo (which is really only a choice for slower tunes), or interlace some chord strums into the melody.

Of these choices, I tend to favor the latter, chording along with my own melody. This seems especially suitable for old-time tunes.

Now, the problem is, I'm not very good at this. I don't always know what chord to play or when to insert it into the tune.

Sam Bush is good at this technique, maybe Norman Blake....but, my list runs short after that. Examples of nicely arranged tunes would be very useful. There don't seem to be all that many in the standard repertoire.

So, to boil this down to one question, does anyone have any good advice on how to approach this?

"Norman Blake...

Norman stays true to the melody with both fiddle and mandolin. I don't hear lots of tremelo or excessive notes in his old stuff which I have been copying for over 20 years.

Try strumming the note out after a phrase and see how that sounds to you. This would be the same as a fiddler's shuffle or a violinist's long bow. I know what you are discribing, but I am not sure if I am communicating the idea properly.

red