Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Asheville, nc jack of the wood

Look for me and Evan Reilly to make a late night appearance tonight at the Thursday night jam session at the downtown Asheville resturant/bar The Jack of Wood on Patton Avenue. Come join us for some genuine Monroeism pickin'.

I'm a country mouse Bobbie Dier's Avatar

I wish I could. It's only about an hours drive there for me but.....I'm a nurse and on call to OR. Bummer
    I wandered again to my home in the mountains....

Well, I didn't want to start a new thread, so I dug this one up to say ...

The wife and I finally closed on our new home in North Carolina! We're very excited about it all. It will probably take us months to sell our place here and actually load up the car and drive across. We will be out there in a couple of week to get our keys, and get the utilities set up and all.

We'll be sure to find some jams and other players. It's our best bet for making new friends once we're in town. Mars Hill, Madison County.

i'm about 45 minutes from there. beautiful country and full of great music.
    Wes
    "i gotta fever...and the only prescription is more cowbell!!"

'87 Flatiron A5-JR/'25 Gibson A-JR

There is a part of that is truly scared about playing anything at all, given the area's deep, long standing traditions.

A lady I know in Black Mountain always talks about those "displaced Northerners who keep trying to change things around." I don't want to be that guy.

Benig,

Carpetbagger you ain't however, you will find that area open to tons of musical styles(especially acoustic) and innovators galore along with the guardians of tradition, you will fit right in.

Welcome to the right coast !!!

Harlan

I moved to the Asheville area 3 1/2 years ago. Best 'welcoming' comment was: "Well, you look like you are from here [I wear bib overalls a lot]; you sing like you are from here; you play like you are from here, but you sure don't talk like you are from here."