Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Like a prayer

No, not a mando version of the Madonna tune! # #I just picked up mandolin about a year and a half ago, but since I'm a guitarist I've achieved a tiny bit of proficiency on it.

Took it to church last night. Now, one of the reasons I love mando is because it seems like a sanctified little instrument, perfect voice for gospel music. So we were playing. We started a tune I don't know, in 3/4 time, key of D. Mandolin home, right? So I'm playing little fills, etc., people are singing and praying - the pastor signals me to play a solo. I usually refuse because I don't want the attention on me, but it seemed right, so I did.

This is not me bragging, o.k.? But it was just a blessing. I tried to play something worshipful and prayerful, using my somewhat limited chops, and it sounded good, and right, and several people said they were blessed by it. So this is more of a testimony, for those of you familiar with the concept. Just wanted to share with folks who can relate.

"I'm your density."

Chad, Thanks for sharing and keep up the good work.
    "Can I have a little more talent in the monitors please?"

There's something in music that is not of this world, perhaps a reflection of the creator, a more pure emotion, who knows? Call it what you will, it can bring together and move large groups of people (in a positive direction) like nothing else.
    Sounds like a beautiful service.

Chad: Amen, brother!

Santiago: It is no mystery, we humans are meant to worship God. He gave us music for that purpose, that is why music touches our souls, whether we recognize our Creator or not.

I, too, played in church yesterday. The first servive was a little rough (hadn't played much in the past month), 2nd service was much better. Mix of some bluegrass chopping to more celtic-flavored strumming and picking. Fun, and got positive feedback from several people.
    Eastman 315
    Epiphone MM-20
    Martin D-16H
    MIJ reissue 62 Strat