Thread: How many learned from a book or

How many of u learned from a book or took lessons to play the mandolin?

Yes. Both, and also taught myself a little.
    Mandolins:
    Mid-mo M11 (#1855)
    Ovation MM68 (#490231)
    New flute CD:
    Wellsprings 2: Joyful!

I learned the basics from a book and a DVD. After learning the basics I was pretty much self taught. I never took lessons but I have learned some valuable things in this forum.
    Just might get some sleep tonight

http://www.geocities.com/tenn_jed_1999/

I am currently learning from a book and DVD (Bert Casey) as well as taking lessons. Just started on the lessons, this week will be #3.

I also want to play for JC.

chris
    Perhaps Today

two t's and one hyphen fatt-dad's Avatar

I originally bought the Jack Tottle book then my wife gave me the mandolin fakebook. I've learned alot from both (all in tab). The best lessons that I took (Orrin Starr) were based on him playing/recording and me listening to the tapes and learning the tunes. He helped with technique, etc. The best learning that I've has was playing with other folks. When a tune was called, I'd either refer to to my fakebook or get the tab at www.mandozine.com and then learn the tune on my own. I'm still along way to play/improvise on the fly, but I've come along way with the methods that I've used.

f-d
    ¡papá gordo ain’t no madre flaca!

'20 A3, '30 L-1, '97 914, 2012 Cohen A5, 2012 Muth A5, '14 OM28A

Books and ABC files found online 7-8 years ago. I did a few workshops over the years, too. Having come from the guitar (30 years including some serious study) and fiddle (10 years as a kid) the mandolin came fairly quickly.

All the music I've ever learned on all instruments, however, has been applied to some degree on the mandolin. It's all music, regardless of the instrument in your hands.

Love to all,
    Ken

Less talk, more pick.