Thread: SM57's and SM58's

Just wanting to hear some reviews on these mics. Concerned with feedback and gain. My band has used 12 dollar mics for the past two years and now we are upgrading. With the cheaper ones we are getting feedback with little gain. Thanks, Bobby
    Mandobobbin

I am not an expert, but that what my band uses, as do a lot of bands and sound people for hire around town. They work well and are a good value for the money. The "conventional wisdom" seems to be to use the 57s for voice and the 58s for instruments.

BTW, here is an online review of the 57:

http://www.musicgearreview.com/revie...microphone.htm

"The "conventional wisdom" seems to be to use the 57s for voice and the 58s for instruments."

I do believe that should be the other way around. The SM-58 has a tighter cardioid pattern that will better resist feedback issues, making it a common choice for vocals. While the 57's are good at handling really loud sources like tom toms, and amps, etc. and are a staple for mic'ing instruments.

That being said, In the past I've used a 58 for everything, nowadays I use a 57 for everything. Overall, I think I prefer the 57. But, I'm only recording with it, not using it for sound reinforcement where the 58 might offer better feedback resistance.

That's my $.02 They're such popular mics, I'm sure someone around here is using them live, and might offer their real world experience.

- Benignus

... I had an afterthought while getting cleaned up this morning. All of the vocalist I've worked with owned their own mic, and would carry that around. That mic was an SM-58 BETA. There certainly *is* a difference between those stock versions and the BETA ones.

58's are good for vocals. For the money I would go with AT pro37r's or AKG C-1000's for inst. Banjo's seem to do fine with 57's. Just my 2C worth from performing for 33 yrs.
    DB
    Style is based on limitations.....Music is based on repetition. Mark Twang