Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Picks

Greetings all. I'm a newbie with a pick question. I will be focusing my playing on Celtic and Classical. I have an Oval hole A style mando. I have a wide array of picks and am intrigued by the different sounds they can produce. My question is this. I love the sound I get from rounded edge Dawg style picks, but as a beginner I am finding it much easier to move around the strings with a more traditional shaped pick. I am best off staying with the rounded off pick and allowing my learning to progress with that style pick, or would anyone recommend coming back to that style after I have become more proficient in my playing abilities?
    Thanks for any advice!!

I like these. Hated them at first but now I love them.
    www.dawgnet.com/dawgpicks.htm

Since no one else has commented I will venture to say that it really doesn't matter what you pick with as long as you like it. I mostly like the rounded edges, but I sometimes like a regular point on my picks, usually for a specific tone or for picking clean on a song with a lot of notes.
    Try using your guitar style picks and using the back 2 rounded corners. If you want to switch it around, it is not that hard before playing a specific section...experimenting on your own is what will be the best for YOU and YOUR playing.

Anyway WELCOME to the cafe vtpicker!
    The best use of the cafe for a newbie would be to learn how to use the search function very well! You can find the answer to almost any question -- just try several combinations of words for searching for what you are interested in. (though pick is a common word in many different types of threads...)
    Here is my pick collection
    I should be pickin' rather than postin'