Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which Mandolin Should I Get?

Default Which Mandolin Should I Get?

I imagine this is an age-old topic here, but my searching the forum didn’t turn anything up, so if folks could point me to a thread or offer some advice I’d be grateful:

I’m a novice guitar player intrigued by the mandolin and have more time on my hands these days so would like to pluck out some fiddle tunes on the porch here. Which make/model mandolins should I search for? My budget is $500-$1k. I tend to play instruments that are higher quality than my actual playing ability, but I like it that way for various reasons.

Appreciate your time!

small instrument, big fun Dan in NH's Avatar

Default Re: Which Mandolin Should I Get?

With that budget I’d recommend an Eastman 305. A style body with f sound holes, Sitka spruce top with maple back & sides. Matte finish. Comes with a gig bag. ~$630

You could also go for an Eastman 505. Similar to the 305 but with a gloss finish, upgraded tuners, and a hard case. ~$920

I actually prefer the finish on the 305, and the 505 hard case can fit the mandolin, a couple of picks, and nothing else. Not even room for a pack of strings.

If you wanted to go F body then the Eastman 315 is similar in specs to the 305 but with an F body. ~$880.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dan in NH For This Useful Post:

It has been asked many times before but there's no reason not to ask again because the market changes, different companies come on the scene, different models become available from the manufacturers so it's always a valid question because the answer is fluid.

In your price range I'd be looking at Kentucky and Eastman and let me be the first to tell you that you'll get more bang for your buck with an A style as opposed to an F style and some will also say buying used can save you money. I don't always subscribe to the buying used piece. Some people were never meant to buy used instruments.